AS/ASD Social Group

Would you like to meet other students who have Asperger syndrome / Autism Spectrum Disorder to chat about common interests and share experiences? If so, please come along to the AS/ASD social group!

We will meet fortnightly in the Autumn term. You can come along to as many, or as few, meetings as you would like.

Topics that we discuss, and the direction that the group takes, will be decided by the group.

Dates for meetings:
Tuesday 16th January, 2-3pm – Edith Morley, room 301
Friday 26th January, 4-5pm – Edith Morley, room G57
Tuesday 30th January, 2-3pm – Edith Morley, room 301
Friday 9th February, 4-5pm – Edith Morley, room G57
Tuesday 13th February, 2-3pm – Edith Morley, room 301
Friday 23rd February, 4-5pm – Edith Morley, room G57
Tuesday 27th February, 2-3pm – Edith Morley, room 301
Friday 9th March, 4-5pm – Edith Morley, room G57
Tuesday 13th March, 2-3pm – Edith Morley, room 301
Friday 23rd March, 4-5pm – Edith Morley, room G57

For further information please contact:
Julie: yb906479@live.reading.ac.uk or disability@reading.ac.uk

Brain in Hand

In the award-winning BBC 2 series, Employable Me, inspiring people prove that having a neurological condition shouldn’t make them unemployable. Last night’s show featured 26-year-old Alan, who has high-functioning autism, and 46-year-old Erica, with Asperger Syndrome.

To help them prepare for work, and to support them whilst in work, the Employable Me team gave them Brain in Hand.

We caught up with Alan and Erica to find out about the challenges they faced starting work, the difference Brain in Hand has made, and their plans for the future. See what they had to say – watch the video below.

Brain in Hand is available for students at university and is funded through the Disabled Students Allowance – get in touch with the Disability Advisory Service if you want more information.