July 2020

You are currently browsing the monthly archive for July 2020.

Further to feedback from our colleagues and recognising that there is limited functionality to allow us to communicate planned maintenance and outages, we have spent the last couple of months working hard to introduce a new DTS Status Page that provides a more reliable service and calendar/system views of uptime and availability.

 

From today, the new DTS Status Page can be found at http://itsstatus.reading.ac.uk/

 

One of the most exciting features of the new page is the ability to sign up for notification emails, either for the whole DTS service or for specific systems and services relevant to your role. There is a “Subscribe” option available from the top tab, from here you can enter your details and choose “all” or “selected” services.

 

If you have any questions about the Status page, please do contact the IT Service Desk via our IT Self Service Portal.

The MyId site will be offline from 6pm on the 10th July until 5pm on the 15th July for an essential upgrade.  The upgrade will improve the underlying architecture of the system and make it more robust.  All MyId services will be affected during this time.

This means:

  • No new employee or student user accounts can be created during the upgrade period. However, new starters added to Trent or RISIS during the down-time will receive their accounts after the upgrade is complete.
  • Outstanding requests submitted through MyID must be approved before 6 o’clock on the 10th July. This includes requests for new external user accounts, as well as account extensions for staff, external contractors and students. Any requests that have not been approved by this time will need to be resubmitted after the upgrade. However, the MyID team will contact you if you are effected.

The only change to the MyId user interface is the removal of ‘My Dashboard’, because it  has been discontinued by the supplier.  Otherwise the request process remains the same:

  • When submitting an employee or external request the Approver’s name will be shown on the form
  • When the Approver accepts, or rejects, your request you will be sent confirmation by email

Updated User Guides reflecting this change will be available following the upgrade.